Cloud Infrastructure Cost Audit: Alibaba vs Claude Max

Audit date: 6 August 2026

4Plans audited
$50–$200Monthly range
100KBenchmark prefix
40Turns per session

Executive conclusion

On auditable unit economics, Alibaba wins decisively:

For one developer running a 100K-token repository through long interactive sessions, Alibaba Token Pro is probably the strongest raw-capacity option. For sustained Claude Code use where Claude's task-completion quality is itself the deciding factor, Max 5× is reasonable. Max 20× is primarily justified by Opus use or sustained parallel agents — not by transparent cost efficiency.

Important correction to a common premise: Alibaba Individual Pro does not provide a 160,000-credit monthly wallet. It provides 12,000 credits in a rolling five-hour window and 40,000 credits in a rolling seven-day window. The often-quoted 160,000 figure is simply four seven-day windows, or 28 days. Source

1. Hard quota and unit-math comparison

PlanPriceMeterFive-hour limitLonger-term limitFull-utilization unit economics
Alibaba Coding Plan$50/moModel calls6,000 rolling45,000/wk · 90,000/mo$0.000556 per call
Alibaba Token Personal Pro$70/moCredits (model, tokens, thinking, tools)12,000 rolling40,000 rolling/7 days$0.000408 per credit
Claude Max 5×$100/moUndisclosed weighted usage5× Pro session capacityUndisclosed weekly limitsNot calculable publicly
Claude Max 20×$200/moUndisclosed weighted usage20× Pro session capacityUndisclosed weekly limitsNot calculable publicly

Alibaba states that a single top-level Coding Plan query normally produces 5–10 underlying model calls for simple tasks and 10–30 or more for complex tasks. Its five-hour allowance rolls continuously, while weekly and monthly quotas have fixed reset points. Source

For Token Pro, a continuously utilized 40,000-credit seven-day allowance yields:

40,000 × 30/7 = 171,429 credits per 30 days

$70 / 171,429 = $0.000408 per consumed credit

This is theoretical maximum utilization. Credits that are not used before their rolling capacity becomes available again have no stored value.

Anthropic currently publishes only "5× Pro" and "20× Pro," plus the existence of weekly limits. It explicitly retains discretion to apply additional model, feature, weekly, or monthly restrictions. Source

Older Anthropic documentation quoted approximately 50–200 Claude Code prompts per five hours for Max 5× and 200–800 for Max 20×. Those numbers should not be treated as current hard quotas: Anthropic subsequently doubled Claude Code five-hour limits in May 2026, while its current documentation removed numeric prompt estimates. Source

Effective Coding Plan capacity

At full monthly utilization:

Workload amplificationEffective top-level tasks/monthAverage/day
5 calls per task18,000600
10 calls per task9,000300
30 calls per task3,000100

For a 40-turn coding session, assuming each user turn causes 5–30 underlying model calls:

Calls per user turnCalls per 40-turn sessionSessions/monthSessions/day
520045015
104002257.5
301,200752.5

That call amplification, rather than token count, is the principal risk in the Coding Plan.

2. Billing mechanics

Alibaba Coding Plan

The Coding Plan is effectively token-insensitive but call-sensitive.

A 6,000-token response and a 500-token response cost the same when both are produced by one model call. A 100K-token cached prompt and a 2K prompt also consume one call each from the subscription quota.

However, verbosity still has an indirect effect. Longer reasoning can cause more tool calls, retries, validation passes, file reads, and model continuations. Alibaba counts those underlying calls, not merely the visible message you submitted.

Alibaba Token Plan

The Token Plan is directly sensitive to:

Alibaba does not publish a complete Personal Plan model-to-credit coefficient table. It says that the console bill is the source of truth. Its public Qwen 3.6-Plus metering example reports:

That implies approximately:

This example is from the Team Token Plan and Alibaba warns that coefficients vary by model, so it is an audit anchor rather than a guaranteed Personal Plan tariff. Source

Claude Max

Claude Max has a fixed invoice but not flat consumption.

Anthropic states that usage depends on message length, conversation length, attached files, model, tools, and project complexity. Claude, Claude Code, and IDE sessions also draw from the same account allowance. When the allowance is exhausted, the user must wait, upgrade, or continue at standard API rates through separate usage credits. Source

The economically correct description: Claude Max hides the metering unit; it does not eliminate token or verbosity costs.

3. Prompt-cache economics

Both providers offer essentially the same explicit five-minute cache economics:

Cache operationAlibabaAnthropic
Five-minute cache write1.25× normal input1.25× normal input
Cache hit0.10× normal input0.10× normal input
Effective hit discount90%90%

Alibaba's automatic implicit cache is less attractive: cache hits cost 20% of normal input and hit probability is not guaranteed. Explicit and implicit Alibaba caching cannot be combined. Source

For a long CLI session, cache discipline is therefore critical:

Reminder: A 90% discount on cached input does not apply to generated output, new context, reasoning tokens, or tool traces.

4. Long-context benchmark

Benchmark definition

The benchmark models:

Token categoryQuantity
Initial cache write100,000
Fresh input over 40 turns80,000
Cached prefix reads3,900,000
Concise output80,000
Verbose output240,000

Alibaba modeled credit burn

Because Alibaba does not publish exact Personal Plan credit coefficients, the following estimates normalize the public Qwen 3.6 credit example using current Model Studio list-price ratios:

These are planning estimates, not published Personal Plan deduction coefficients.

ModelConcise sessionVerbose sessionVerbosity increaseSessions per 7-day quota (concise / verbose)
Qwen 3.7-Plus146 credits249 credits+70%273 / 161
Qwen 3.8-Max~668 credits~1,052 credits+57%~60 / ~38

Sustainable daily averages under the 40,000-credit rolling seven-day limit

ModelStandard-hours sessions/dayOff-peak sessions/day
Qwen 3.7-Plus, concise39.097.6
Qwen 3.7-Plus, verbose23.057.4
Qwen 3.8-Max, concise8.642.9
Qwen 3.8-Max, verbose5.427.1

Alibaba currently applies 0.4× credit consumption to Qwen 3.7-Plus and 0.2× to Qwen 3.8-Max between 22:00 and 08:00 UTC+8. In Lisbon during August, that corresponds approximately to 15:00–01:00 local time. Source

Off-peak impact: This discount changes the recommendation materially — Qwen 3.8-Max becomes economically viable for much more sustained use when the workload can be shifted into the discounted window.

Claude API-equivalent resource value

Claude Max does not disclose how these sessions translate into its included quota. Nevertheless, current API rates provide a useful shadow value:

Claude modelConcise API-equivalent costVerbose API-equivalent costVerbosity increase
Sonnet 5$1.99$3.59+80%
Opus 5$4.98$8.98+80%

These calculations use the current Sonnet 5 introductory rates of $2/M input and $10/M output and Opus 5 rates of $5/M input and $25/M output, including the 1.25× initial cache write and 0.1× cache reads. Sonnet pricing rises to $3/$15 after August 31, 2026. Source

At API-equivalent prices, $100 represents approximately:

This does not mean Max 5× contains those exact quantities. It shows the compute value that Anthropic would charge through its transparent API meter.

Sonnet 5 also uses a tokenizer that produces approximately 30% more tokens than Sonnet 4.6 for identical text. Repository sizes estimated using an older Claude tokenizer should therefore be remeasured. Source

5. The verbosity-tax audit

Moving from 2,000 to 6,000 output tokens across 40 turns adds 160,000 output tokens.

MeterIncremental burn
Alibaba Coding PlanNo direct additional quota, unless extra model calls occur
Qwen 3.7-Plus Token Plan estimate+102 credits
Qwen 3.8-Max Token Plan estimate+384 credits
Claude Sonnet 5 API equivalent+$1.60
Claude Opus 5 API equivalent+$4.00
Claude Max subscriptionEarlier exhaustion of undisclosed session/weekly quota

The Alibaba Coding Plan is therefore unusually attractive for models that generate long answers without spawning many additional calls.

The Token Plan behaves differently. Output tokens are materially more expensive than cached input. Under the public Qwen credit anchor, one million output tokens consumes approximately as many credits as:

Practical implication: Controlling answer length often creates greater savings than further optimizing an already effective prompt cache.

For Claude Max, conciseness has no immediate marginal cash cost while below the limit, but it extends the usable session and weekly allowance. Once the included limit is reached, continued usage is charged at API rates, making the hidden verbosity tax explicit. Source

6. Parallel multi-agent workflows

Coding Plan call consumption

Assume one decomposition launches 4–8 agents, each making 10–30 calls:

AgentsCalls per decomposition
440–120
660–180
880–240

This produces the following theoretical capacity before coordinator calls, retries, and validation:

QuotaMulti-agent decompositions
6,000 calls/5 hours25–150
90,000 calls/month375–2,250

The wide range shows why visible prompt count is a poor predictor of Coding Plan consumption.

Token Plan multi-agent benchmark

Assume every agent receives the 100K repository prefix, performs 15 turns, adds 2K fresh input per turn, and generates either 2K or 6K output per turn.

Model4 agents6 agents8 agents
Qwen 3.7-Plus266–419398–629531–838
Qwen 3.8-Max1,232–1,8101,849–2,7142,465–3,619

The ranges represent concise-to-verbose output. During Alibaba's discounted window, multiply Plus figures by 0.4 and Max figures by 0.2.

A single 4–8-agent batch therefore fits inside the Token Pro 12,000-credit five-hour ceiling. Repeated 3.8-Max-model batches can still consume the window quickly. Alibaba markets Pro as supporting approximately 6–8 concurrent agents, but this should be treated as a design target rather than guaranteed throughput or latency. Source

Claude Max parallelism

All Claude, Claude Code, and supported IDE usage shares the same account-level allowance. Four to eight sub-agents do not receive separate Max quotas. Each agent creates its own generated history, reasoning, tools, and output, so consumption generally scales roughly with the number of active agents even when a common repository prefix is cached. Source

Therefore:

Neither tier provides a throughput SLA or auditable agent-hour capacity.

7. Break-even volume analysis

Hard cash-flow breakpoints

Subscription pricing creates a step function rather than a smooth token crossover.

Alibaba Coding versus Claude Max

Alibaba Coding remains cheaper than either Claude Max tier while the workload stays under:

Claude Max 5× becomes cheaper in monthly cash terms only when:

  1. The Coding Plan no longer provides sufficient capacity;
  2. The equivalent workload still fits inside Max 5×'s undisclosed limits; and
  3. The alternative is buying both Alibaba Coding and Token Pro for approximately $120/month.

At that point, Max 5× is $20 cheaper than the two Alibaba subscriptions combined. Before that point, the $50 Alibaba subscription has the lower invoice.

Alibaba Token Pro versus Claude Max

Token Pro remains cheaper while usage stays below:

Under the benchmark, those limits correspond approximately to:

WorkloadStandard-hours sustainable volume/dayOff-peak volume/day
Qwen 3.7-Plus concise39 sessions98
Qwen 3.7-Plus verbose23 sessions57
Qwen 3.8-Max concise8.6 sessions43
Qwen 3.8-Max verbose5.4 sessions27

Capacity-normalized Claude break-even

Because Anthropic does not disclose Max capacity, the break-even must be expressed as the capacity Max would need to deliver.

For Max to have a lower effective cost per completed benchmark session than Alibaba at full utilization:

Alibaba comparisonMax 5× must deliver more thanMax 20× must deliver more than
Coding Plan, 5 calls/turn30 sessions/day60/day
Coding Plan, 10 calls/turn15/day30/day
Coding Plan, 30 calls/turn5/day10/day
Token Pro, Plus concise55.8/day111.5/day
Token Pro, Plus verbose32.8/day65.6/day
Token Pro, 3.8-Max concise12.3/day24.6/day
Token Pro, 3.8-Max verbose7.7/day15.4/day

The Alibaba Token figures above use standard-hour consumption. During discounted hours, the Claude requirement rises by:

Since Anthropic does not publish whether Max 5× or 20× can deliver those benchmark-session quantities, a more precise public break-even claim would be fabricated. The current account's /status and Settings → Usage data must be measured against a repeatable trace.

Coding Plan versus Token Pro within Alibaba

For the common Qwen 3.7-Plus model, the modeled crossover is particularly revealing.

For a 40-turn cached session:

Alibaba says actual tasks commonly require 5–30 underlying calls. Consequently, for long Qwen 3.7-Plus agent sessions, Token Pro should provide more session capacity than the Coding Plan despite costing $20 more.

The Coding Plan wins when interactions are simple and close to one direct completion per turn. Token Pro wins when tools, file exploration, testing, and retries amplify each visible turn into several model calls.

8. Final verdict

WorkloadRecommendationRationale
Short or medium coding tasks, limited tool useAlibaba Coding PlanLowest price and predictable call meter; no direct output-token tax
100K+ repository, 30–50 turns, frequent cache reuseAlibaba Token Pro with Qwen 3.7-PlusCached context becomes very cheap; higher effective session capacity than request billing
Flagship Qwen reasoning, workload can run 15:00–01:00 Lisbon timeToken Pro with Qwen 3.8-Max off-peakThe 0.2× credit multiplier offsets much of the flagship-model premium
Quality-critical Claude Code use by one developerClaude Max 5×Pay for Claude-native capability and workflow integration, not transparent compute economics
Persistent Opus use or 4–8 Claude sub-agentsClaude Max 20×Greater headroom, although quota remains opaque
Actual team sharing or production automationNone of these individual plansUse Alibaba Team Token/API or Claude Team/Enterprise/API

Alibaba's Coding and Personal Token plans prohibit API-key sharing and non-interactive backend or batch automation. Claude Max is likewise explicitly an individual consumer plan. A team may run several agents under one developer's control, but sharing the subscription across developers or treating it as production infrastructure is a governance and contractual mismatch. Source

Procurement decision

From a strict infrastructure-audit perspective: Alibaba sells measurable capacity with some coefficient opacity; Anthropic sells an opaque fair-use capacity tier. That makes Alibaba easier to budget and optimize, while Claude Max must be evaluated through controlled workload traces and completed-task economics rather than advertised usage multiples.

Sources and references

Related


Want this applied to your own LLM spend? FinOps LLM runs a free audit of your AI costs and shows where the savings are. Book free audit →

Back to research

FAQ

Which AI coding plan has the lowest unit cost?

Alibaba Coding Plan at $50/month provides the lowest predictable cost per model call at $0.000556 per call. Alibaba Token Plan Pro at $70/month provides the best economics for repeatedly reusing a large cached codebase, particularly with Qwen 3.7-Plus at approximately $0.000408 per credit at theoretical continuous utilization.

How does Alibaba Token Pro compare to Claude Max on a per-session basis?

Under a 100K-token repository benchmark with 40 turns, Qwen 3.7-Plus consumes approximately 146 credits (concise) to 249 credits (verbose) per session on Token Pro. At $70/month with rolling seven-day quotas, that yields 39 concise or 23 verbose sessions per day. Claude Max does not disclose equivalent capacity figures, so the break-even can only be estimated through API shadow pricing.

What is Alibaba's off-peak discount and when does it apply?

Alibaba applies 0.4× credit consumption to Qwen 3.7-Plus and 0.2× to Qwen 3.8-Max between 22:00 and 08:00 UTC+8. In Lisbon during August, that corresponds approximately to 15:00–01:00 local time. This discount materially changes the economics: Qwen 3.8-Max becomes viable for sustained use when workloads can be shifted into the discounted window.

Why can't Claude Max unit economics be calculated?

Anthropic publishes only '5× Pro' and '20× Pro' capacity multipliers plus the existence of weekly limits. It does not disclose the token, compute, or dollar-equivalent quantity contained in either Max tier. The company explicitly retains discretion to apply additional model, feature, weekly, or monthly restrictions.

Does verbosity cost more under Alibaba Coding Plan?

No. The Coding Plan is call-sensitive, not token-sensitive. A 6,000-token response and a 500-token response cost the same when both are produced by one model call. However, longer reasoning can indirectly cause more tool calls, retries, and continuations — and Alibaba counts those underlying calls.

When should I choose Coding Plan over Token Plan Pro?

The Coding Plan wins when interactions are simple and close to one direct completion per turn. Token Pro wins when tools, file exploration, testing, and retries amplify each visible turn into several model calls. For long Qwen 3.7-Plus agent sessions, Token Pro provides more session capacity than the Coding Plan despite costing $20 more.